It’s 2014. What Can Possibly Be the Dividing Line between the “Press” and “The Entire Outside World”?

It makes me very, very sad that such a friendly, open, social media savvy culture as we have at Lyft has triggered a Lyft Boston driver into feeling that he might “get in trouble” for talking to the “Press” without first talking to Lyft SF’s Public Relations Department. In this case, he spoke to the Boston Globe without first speaking to Lyft SF.

It’s 2014.

What can possibly be the dividing line between the “Press” and “The Entire Outside World”?

Publicly available estimates are that a third of us drive for both Lyft AND Uber.

Question: I’ve been asked by a member of the “Press” to speak about the pros and cons of driving for Lyft compared to Uber.

Which of the following statements are True and which are False?

  1. Before speaking to anyone in the “Press”, I must talk to the Public Relations Departments of both Lyft and Uber.
  1. The subject of what I’m talking about with the “Press” determines whether or not I should first talk to the Public Relations Department of Lyft.
  1. There is a widely shared definition of the term: “Press”.
  1. If I sign a non-disclosure agreement with a company from which I receive compensation, a portion of what I say about the company to the world outside of the company is restricted.
  1. If I DON’T sign a non-disclosure agreement with a company from which I receive compensation, NO portion of what I say about the company to the world outside of that company is restricted.
  1. When I accept the Terms of Service after agreeing to use the Lyft Platform, I have agreed to a clause in the Terms of Service that addresses disclosure of information.

Will I get in trouble if I speak with a guy who writes a little blog?

Will I get in trouble if I speak about Lyft on my personal Facebook page?

Will I get in trouble if I write about Lyft in the Boston Lyft Facebook Lounge without first talking to Lyft PR?

  • The Boston Lyft Lounge is a “thing with words” not associated with Lyft, Incorporated. All 126 members are members of the awesome Lyft team.
  • The Boston Globe is a “thing with words” that has a Sunday circulation of 362,849 and a daily circulation of 215,712?

Is there a threshold between 126 and 215,712 after which a “thing with words” is defined as the “Press”?

Didn’t we cross this bridge earlier in this century?

I love being a part of the awesome Lyft team.

Issuing statements restricting the Freedom of Speech and the Freedom of the Press of Lyft team members is very, very, very poor Public Relations.

I ask Lyft’s Public Relations Department to reverse statements made concerning speaking with the “Press”. It’s time to heal this self-inflicted public relations wound.

I love being a part of the awesome Lyft team.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

